Skip to main content

Follow Us

Social networking will appear here

Support Us

Join  |   Donate

Contact Us

League of Women Voters of Appleton-Fox Cities
P.O. Box 1281
Appleton, WI  54912
Copyright © 2024 • All Rights Reserved • Terms of Use Privacy Policy • Powered by ClubExpress

The Making Democracy Work Award, the signature award of the League of Women Voters, honors the civic work of individuals in their community as demonstrated through their professional work or volunteerism. The award celebrates community individuals who have envisioned a way to improve the Fox Cities community and have mobilized others to work with them to effect change that has benefited the broader community. This award honors one such individual who has helped to make our community strong, vibrant and fair.

Nominations for the 2023 MDW Youth Award are being accepted now until December 1, 2023. The Award will be presented at the League’s Holiday Brunch on December 16.

Complete the nomination form linked below, or print and complete the form, and mail it to:

LWV of Appleton-Fox Cities
P.O. Box 1281
Appleton, WI 54912

Nomination Form

2022 MDW Award Recipients


A Making Democracy Work Lifetime Achievement Award was awarded posthumously to Helen Nagler for her decades of service to our community. 

The 2022 Making Democracy Work Award was presented to Ronna Swift by Ann Muenster and Connie Raether. 


The 2022 Making Democracy Work Youth Award was presented to Maggie McGinnis by Voter Service team members Jacqui Klimaszewski and Brian Post

Accomplishments of the 2022 recipients may be found HERE.

Past Recipients  of the Making Democracy Work Award

  • 2022 Helen Nagler
  • 2022 Ronna Swift
  • 2022 Maggie McGinnis

  • 2021 Appleton Public Library

  • 2020 AASD Student Marketing Team
  • 2020 Elaina Anderson, MDW Youth Award
  • 2020 Grace Demetrician, MDW Youth Award

  • 2019 Mary Ann Rossi, Lifetime Achievement Award
  • 2019 Madeleine McDermott, MDW Youth Award
  • 2019 Amanda Schmidt, Youth Award Honorable Mention

  • 2018 Nancy Jones
  • 2018 Isabella DeVine, MDW Youth Award

  • 2017 Connie Raether

  • 2016 Kathy Groat

  • 2015 Ann Muenster

  • 2014 Kathy Flores